DAY 2

Words will not describe what I have seen in the past two days. It’s about 9p.m. on Friday as I write this. Yesterday and today were spend laying pipes for the restroom building that will be used for the school and church that are also under construction. The construction sight consist of me, Jerry, Nick (who is a man from England) and then about 45 local workers. Most of the worker are street kids about my age that sleep in the garbage dump not to far away. They work from 7a.m. until 5p.m. seven days per week. The wage they recieve for their ten hour day is about two dollars american. They work very hard, most of the time… Most of them don’t speak any english. The native language is called Kenyarandan. Some of then speak very limited english, so we have fun pointing at things, then trading the words back and forth and playing catch with empty water bottles or pieces of pipe. The work goes very slow because of difficulty getting the parts that are needed. Shopping at the hardware store and getting the workers to do the right work while trying to explain what you want and them having not a clue of what you mean takes alot of time and patients. The workers are extremely friendly though, they always have a smile when we show up and they love trying to teach me their language.

Tomorrow I will have some pictures of the sight and people I’m working with. Hopefully then I can further explain the experiences here.

Oh yah, and tonight for dinner I had goat and fries. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten goat before.

~ by mikecrwanda on May 9, 2008.

One Response to “DAY 2”

  1. Hey Mike– great to read your blog! I’m praying for you Glad you’re seeing many new things and sounds like you’re making a lot of new friends! Blessings to you. Keep up the great posts.

Leave a comment